News Brief

Georgia Outlaws LEED in Latest Battle over FSC

Following in Maine’s footsteps, the State of Georgia has effectively banned LEED certification for State building projects.

Governor Nathan Deal’s executive order (PDF), echoing language used by Maine Governor Paul LePage, requires green building standards that equally recognize three forestry standards—the Sustainable Forestry Initiative (SFI), the American Tree Farm System, and the Forest Stewardship Council (FSC). The Governor’s office claims that “recognizing all forest certifications equally will promote sustainable forestry in our state and will help create thousands of jobs while maintaining our strong outdoor heritage.” The ban does not apply to school district building projects but does apply to State-funded colleges and universities.

LEED offers optional certified wood credits only for FSC-certified wood, but incentives are available for locally sourced materials—meaning that even non-certified local wood can be used to attain optional LEED credits.

BuildingGreen’s investigative series on the “wood wars” examines claims and motives behind recent LEED bans.

For more information:

Office of the Governor of Georgia

Published October 2, 2012

Melton, P. (2012, October 2). Georgia Outlaws LEED in Latest Battle over FSC. Retrieved from

Add new comment

To post a comment, you need to register for a BuildingGreen Basic membership (free) or login to your existing profile.