News Brief

Many States Have Yet to Adopt Codes Required by Stimulus

Attorney Shari Shapiro points out on the Green Building Law blog that every state provided a governor’s letter stating its intent to comply with ARRA Section 410, linking State Energy Program (SEP) funding to adoption and enforcement of the 2009 International Energy Conservation Code (IECC) for residential buildings and ANSI/ASHRAE/IESNA Standard 90.1-2007 for commercial buildings. Section 410 also required a program of training and annual compliance measurement, aimed at 90% compliance by 2017.

Although California, Washington, Illinois, and Maryland have adopted more stringent codes than required by ARRA for both residential and commercial building, 18 states still do not meet the residential requirements, and 15 do not meet the commercial requirements—including eight states with no statewide building energy codes at all.


Published March 1, 2013

Weaver, E. (2013, March 1). Many States Have Yet to Adopt Codes Required by Stimulus. Retrieved from

Add new comment

To post a comment, you need to register for a BuildingGreen Basic membership (free) or login to your existing profile.


July 22, 2013 - 1:21 pm

It would be interesting to follow-up with a list of states that do not comply with the ARRA section 410. Although you did not mention Massachusetts, I believe that the recent BBRS decision to promulgate the 2012 IECC places it in the same high-achivers category as California, Washington, Illinois and Maryland.