News Brief

Recertification Now a Reality for All LEED Buildings

Formerly the domain of the operations and maintenance rating system, recertification is now achievable for new construction projects.

Design is just the beginning, but the plaque stays up forever. What happens next with LEED for Building Design and Construction (BD+C) and Interior Design and Construction (ID+C) was formerly unknown—unless they pursued LEED for Existing Buildings: Operations and Maintenance. But now it’s possible for BD+C and ID+C projects to recertify every three years in order to confirm continued sustainability achievements during operations.

To participate, project teams have to submit a year’s worth of data in five categories:

  • Energy (1–33 points)
  • Water (1–15 points)
  • Transportation (1–14 points)
  • Waste (1–8 points)
  • Human experience (1–20 points)

These five categories form the backbone of version 4.1 of O+M, but full certification under that rating system is not required. Projects will receive an automatic ten points for prior certification. Certification levels will be tallied as follows:

  • Certified: 40–49 points
  • Silver: 50–59 points
  • Gold: 60–79 points
  • Platinum: 80+ points

Recertification under O+M is built into that rating system, but recertification is optional for BD+C and ID+C projects. Annual data reporting on energy and water consumption remains a requirement for these project types, regardless of whether they seek recertification.

For more information:

U.S. Green Building Council

Published January 7, 2019

Melton, P. (2019, January 7). Recertification Now a Reality for All LEED Buildings. Retrieved from

Add new comment

To post a comment, you need to register for a BuildingGreen Basic membership (free) or login to your existing profile.


January 23, 2019 - 8:54 pm

At what point will Certification be withdrawn if reporting is not performed?