News Brief

EnergyValue Housing Award

Awards & Competitions


With its fourth annual cycle, the EnergyValue Housing Award administered by the National Association of Home Builders Research Center appears to be gaining steam.

Quite a few winners were announced at the January 14 ceremony in Dallas, with some outstanding projects. A number of the winning entries came from builders participating in the Department of Energy’s Building America initiative (see EBN Vol. 5, No. 6), but there were also strong entries from builders working without such outside support. The “Builder of the Year” award went to Stitt Energy Systems, Inc. of Rogers, Arkansas, which has been building energy-efficient homes in traditional neighborhoods for over 20 years. For a complete list of winners go to the EBN Web site:

Entries for the EnergyValue Housing Award 2000 are due by May 17, 1999, with an early deadline of April 1 to qualify for a reduced entry fee and application review. For details and applications contact Jeannie Leggett of the NAHB Research Center at 800/638-8556 ext. 589, 301/249-3265 (fax), or (e-mail). Applications are also available on the Web:



Published February 1, 1999

(1999, February 1). EnergyValue Housing Award. Retrieved from

Add new comment

To post a comment, you need to register for a BuildingGreen Basic membership (free) or login to your existing profile.